Teaching with Technology: An Interview and an Overview

Last fall I had the privilege of participating in a panel at my Alma Mater, St. Olaf College, about how technology is used in the classroom. One of the other members of the panel, Nancy Aarsvold, Assistant Director of Instructional Technology at St. Olaf, invited me to be ‘interviewed’ for a guest blog post. I wanted to share the post on learningandphysics as an introduction to my writings about educational technology. My big picture for ed tech is that technology is a wonderful means to the end of student learning, but shouldn’t be used for it’s own sake. I strongly believe that student use of technology is paramount in increasing student learning; there are far too many teachers who are technologically proficient yet pass none of those skills on to their students.

See the blog post here to read more about how I use Google Apps, LoggerPro, Wikis, and other technology in my classroom.

Blog Post URL: http://stolafiit.wordpress.com/2011/12/02/alumni-profiles-casey-rutherford-04/

 

Leave a Reply

